NASPH was formed in 2005 in order to further the study of philosophical hermeneutics. While honoring the rootedness of philosophical hermeneutics in the work of Hans-Georg Gadamer, NASPH also recognizes that the future of such thinking depends on engaging with a diverse range of figures and issues. Our intention is to promote dialogue focusing on both the sources of and the prospects for, philosophical hermeneutics.

In addition to this blog, NASPH also maintains an online archive with information about past conferences and meetings at https://sites.google.com/site/nasphdocs/.

Executive Committee 

  • Carolyn Culbertson (Florida Gulf Coast University), President
  • Greg Lynch (North Central College), Vice President
  • David Vessey (Grand Valley State), Treasurer
  • Carlo DaVia (Loyola Marymount University), Secretary 

Advisory Board 

  • Lauren Swayne Barthold (Gordon College)
  • David Vessey (Grand Valley State University)
  • Walter Brogan (Villanova University)
  • Georgia Warnke (University of California, Riverside)
  • Dennis Schmidt (Pennsylvania State University)
  • Andrzej Wiercinski (International Institute of Hermeneutics)
  • James Risser (Seattle University)
  • Ted George (Texas A&M)
  • Alejandro Vallega (University of Oregon)